Noosa Biosphere Awards finalists announced

Former President Phil Jarratt with ambassadors Josh Constable, Dean Brady and Jordan Mercer, surfing icons Layne Beachley and Hayden Kenny, and World Surfing Reserves Inc CEO Nik Strong-Cvetich.

The Noosa Biosphere Reserve Foundation (NBRF) has announced the finalists for the inaugural Noosa Biosphere Awards 2021.

The Foundation launched the new awards program in August this year as part of the 50th Anniversary of the UNESCO Man and the Biosphere Programme, as a way to recognise environmental and sustainability excellence in the Noosa Shire.

NBRF Chair, Rex Halverson said entries were of a high calibre.

“The feedback we received from the judges was the number of high-quality entries received clearly demonstrated why the Noosa Shire is leading the way in biosphere reserve management and sustainability,” Mr Halverson said.

“This is exactly why we felt it was time our region had an awards program that recognised those individuals and businesses making a real difference.”

An independent panel of eight judges included inaugural Noosa Biosphere Ltd Chair, Michael Donovan; former Zero Emissions Noosa President, Vivien Griffin; Noosa and District Landcare’s Phil Moran, former NBRF Director, Judy Castledine; and Noosa Shire Councillors Brian Stockwell, Amelia Lorentson, Karen Finzel, and Tom Wegener.

Entrants are competing for the title of one of four category awards – Land, Water, Wildlife, and People and Economy.

The 2021 Noosa Biosphere Awards finalists are as follows:

Land category finalists, sponsored by University of the Sunshine Coast: PermEco Noosa, Dangerbridge Nature Reserve, Noosa Landcare – Keeping it in Kin Kin project.

Water category finalists, sponsored by Tourism Noosa: Land and Sea Brewery (Can for a Cause), Noosa Integrated Catchment Association, Noosa World Surfing Reserve.

Wildlife category finalists, sponsored by International Fund for Animal Welfare: Meghan Halverson, Rachel Lyons, Dr Romane Cristescu.

People and Economy category finalists, sponsored by Noosa Council Economic Development: Earth Tech, Noosa Environmental Education Hub, Plastic Free Noosa.

“Congratulations to all of our finalists and each of the entrants. Our community is very fortunate to have so many environmental champions among us, each of whom contribute greatly to the health, prosperity and sustainability of Noosa,” Mr Halverson said.

“The Judging Panel also made special reference to two emerging young Noosa Biosphere warriors acknowledging the entries from Spencer Hitchen and Jarrah Small.”

Winners of the 2021 Noosa Biosphere Awards will be announced at the Wild Koala Gala on Tuesday 2 November. Tickets are on sale at