For Noosa One of the Best

Retrieval training.

By Ron Lane

For the Noosa Surf Life Saving Club the season 2017/18 would have to be one of the best ever. In the field of competition the results speak for themselves; home from the Australian titles in Perth with an incredible 12 gold 8 silver and 8 bronze medals.

However be this as it may the most important factor of all and the reason for the clubs very existence is and always will be beach patrols. And in this, despite the expanding areas of volunteer patrols required of the IRB teams, they have successfully responded to all emergencies in remote regions; and patrols at Main Beach have upheld the proud tradition of no lives lost between the flags.

During the month of April the turbulent weather and big seas saw both Main Beach and IRB patrols respond to mass rescues, as well as dangerous rescue situations that occurred amongst rocky outlets of National Park.

At the recent Annual Dinner and Presentation of Trophies the solid performance in both areas was acknowledged by the attendance of many VIPs from the world of politics, business, sport, as well as national and state lifesaving administration.

In recognition of their performance and dedication we acknowledge the following recipients.

The major award of the season Patrol of the Year was Patrol One under the leadership of Patrol Captain Andrew Bock and Vice-Captain Dakota Panetta and the Dave Higgins Memorial Trophy for the Club Person of the Year went to Michael Geary.

The IRB Driver and Crewman Award went to Greg Schumann and Russell Oakley and that all important support factor Radio Operator was Pablo Aguirre. The Trainer of the Year was Robyn Jenkinson, Cadet of the Year Tilly Giblett and Rookie of the Year Eithan Gilbert.

In the surf sports arena Lana Rogers, this years winner of the Open Iron Woman Championship of Australian was named Most Outstanding Female Competitor and Rhys Burrows Most Outstanding Male. For the team events the team of the year was the Open Female Taplin and in boats the Crew of the Year was the U/19 Female Scrub Turkeys.

Other outstanding recipients were u/17 Female Club Champion Electra Outram and u/15 Male Kai Thompson. Electra was also a member of the Female Taplin Relay and Kai also received recognition as the Most Outstanding Youth; and in Surf Rescue Competition Most Outstanding went to Lara Porter.

Yesterday Wednesday 20 June, Lana Rogers Noosas Australian Open Iron Woman Champion took her place in the Australian team as it left for Japan to compete for the Sanyo Bussan Cup. “I am really looking forward to representing my country and also being coached and mentored by Shannon Eckstein.” We wish Lana and her Australian team mates the best of luck.

Following on to their successful season in the Australian Surf Rowers League (the top competition for boats in Australia) the u/19 girls crews are already back in the boats. “It’s just light sessions,” said Coach/Sweep David Tomba. “We are working on techniques and also doing a bit of distance to rebuild their endurance.”

Late July will see the master boat crew the Condors, the veterans of last seasons George Bass Marathon, plus others travel north for the Yepoon –Great Keppel Island Carnival an event that aims to promote boat competition in the far north regions of Mackay and Yepoon.

Also back in training are the IRB squads with sessions being conducted on Noosas North Shore. With the increasing demands being put on these teams in their performance of roving patrols, the training sessions are now virtually twelve months of the year thus ensuring that the team numbers are up to the required level. It may be winter but the training never stops.

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.