Bid to break Guinness bowls record

Noosa Heads this week plays host to Frank Peniguel, who is attempting to create a Guinness world record for the most number of bowls clubs played at in one year. At 1.30pm on Friday, he’ll take on club chairman Bob King in a singles match over 10 ends. The rules of his quest state that two club members be present as witnesses, but that should be no problem as there will be at least 60 bowlers taking part in our regular Friday Jackpot Pairs. Frank says he has already clocked up 300 club visits this year.
Wednesday ladies bowls this week will be followed, at 3pm, by a special send-off to club secretary Ann, who leaves us after 19 years of looking after Noosa Heads members in her friendly, obliging and unflappable style. Thank you Ann for a long and loyal service.
Terry O’Neill and Niven Gugich were winners of Tuesday pairs last week over Garyth Williams and David Deane. The ladies triples on Wednesday went to Et Kellett, Val Valentine and Carol Coole. Deb Austin and Andrew McCall took the main prize on Friday, with South Australian visitors Chris and Doc Johnson runners -up ion Jackpot Pairs.
Saturday social triples went to Richard Foulds, Clive Mudgeway and Richard Charlton. And the men’s pennant trials also had a competition, with the biggest winning margin scored by the four of Terry Finnegan, Ralphe Rickman, Tony Whelan and Richard Hillhorst.
A Rapid Fire Men’s event has been scheduled for Thursday 14 August carrying good prizemoney. Entry forms are available at Noosa Heads Bowls Club. Or phone 5447 3433 for more details.
– The Chalker
Monday 14 July: Drysdales Sponsered Veterans. Winners: K. Muir, W. Horn and Curly Greg. Runners-up: D. Birt, B. Dodd and K. Coghlan.
Tuesday 15 July: Divine Dental 2 bowl triples. Winners: Pam Leatherey, Noel Ruff and Jenny Lonie. Runners-up: Gloria Nunn, Joan Pyers and Marlene Trembath.
Wednesday 16 July: John Madill Men’s Bowls: Pairs winners: Mike Lowe and Gary Moss (2 Wins +37), Runners-up: Russ Digby and Eric Negri (2nd Game win +7) Triples winners: A. Ping, A. Joyce and J. Gray. Jackpot not claimed carried over.
Friday 18July: Noosa Landscape Supplies Open triples. Winners: Jean Saunderson, Sue Mould and Ray Larke. Runners-up: Bert de Koster, Rick Dickson and Gary Moss.
2014/15 Ladies Bowls Committee: president: Lyndal Hughes, senior vice-president: Bev Dickinson, junior vice-president; Joan Pyers, secretary: Pauline Mohr, games director: Van Vignon, games committee: Judy Ingram, Natalie McAully, Margaret Dodd, Mary Ross, Yvonne Ambrey, Mary Williams and Carol McAskill. Welfare Officer: Connie Johnston, special events co-ordinator: Marlene Trembath, SCDLBA delegate: Pam Taylor, hostess: Dot Abbot.
– Heath Costello

Your first stop before buying a home. View the whole picture.